Clwyd Veteran And Vintage Machinery Society Ltd Left Logo Click to Return To Welcome Page Clwyd Veteran And Vintage Machinery Society Ltd Left Logo Click to Return To Welcome Page

The first meeting of The Society was held at the Four Winds Public House at Tan y Fron, on Tuesday 28th September 1976, to discuss the formation of a Society for those interested in old machinery of any sort.

Minutes of the Meeting.

Those present were:  Messes. Aled Owen,  Julian Domagalski,  Rob Domagalski,  Tony Strafford,  John Davies,  Glyn Williams,  Berwyn Jones,  Harold Kelly,  David Kelly,  Jasper Williams and John Clifford Davies (who recorded these minutes).

It was proposed and seconded that Mr Jasper Williams be elected Chairman, Mr Clifford Davies as Secretary for the next year from the first full meeting to be held on Tuesday 5th October 1976.

It was resolved that the name of the Society be Clwyd Veteran and Vintage Machinery Society and that meetings be held on the first Tuesday of each month at 7.30 pm.

It was decided that the membership fees would be £1 and for junior members and pensioners 50p.


The question of club badges was raised.  The Treasurer was asked to enquire at the Art department of the Aston College if it was possible for the students there to design a suitable emblem and for him to report at the next meeting.  It was also proposed that the question of publicity be put on the agenda for the next meeting.

The eleven named above are the Founder Members of the Society.  Sadly Jasper Williams, Harold Kelly and Cliff Davies have passed away.  On a happier note most of the remainder are still involved with the Society and some were helping with last year's Show.

The First Rally:

The first rally was held on Saturday 28th May 1977 at Plas Coch, Wrexham.  The event was called Steam and Vintage Machinery Rally and was opened by Mr. Frank Wingett, the first Society President.  The program sold for 10p and listed the Society Officials, Committee Members and Show Committee Members.

The Show Committee Members were J Belton, G P Davies, J Domagalski, R Domagalski, D Harper, C Jones, J C Jones, R Jones, D Moss, J Nelson, B Owen, G Owen, G A Strafford, C M Stubbs and K Thompson.

Entries in the program were: Steam - 3;  Tractor and Implement - 3;  Stationary Engine - 37;  Cars and Commercials - 8;  Motorcycles - 8.

This Site     The Web   
Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict